6:00AM: the best hour of the day, or too
close to your 3:00AM bedtime?
This one is
a somewhere in between for me. I rarely
stay up past around 10 pm, but I do tend to be more of a night person than an
early morning person. Once I had
children, my rule became “just let me stay in bed until 7 am,” then I’m good.
When they got older, and I started back to work full time, I needed to carve
out exercise time before work, and the best time for that was 6 am or
before. Although it was not always easy
to get out of bed to go running or to sunrise yoga, I did it, and I was always
so glad to be done with it before starting work for the day. When it became a
habit, I didn’t mind getting up early, exercising, and then having time to
relax and enjoy my coffee and so forth before work. I had settled into this routine nicely before
moving back to the states, and I would say, during that time in my life, 6 am
was very close to the best hour of the day for me.
Now, my
schedule has changed, and I am already at work by 6 am or on my way and
exercising has to wait until the end of the day when I am already
exhausted. I don’t like this as much. I
didn’t realize how nice it was to be able to get up early, but not TOO early and take my time getting ready
for work, including exercising and picking up the kitchen, etc…until I didn’t have
that luxury anymore. There are
advantages and disadvantages to every schedule, and it is nice to get home
earlier, but it doesn’t make my life any less hectic because now I have to fit my
exercising in after work along with all my other chores and errands, so the extra
time is taken up with the rest of life, and there’s no more real “quiet”
moments because by the time I get home, there’s the dog and the children, and
all the “noises” of life in general.
The wee
hours of the morning are good for those moments of silence, to give your brain
a chance to wake up and think about the day before it gets into full swing, so
there is something to be said for it, and I think it may still be the best hour
of the day. It’s just that now I don’t get to enjoy the silence of it as I did
before. I miss that…I guess that’s one of those things I can look forward to in
retirement, huh?! J
No comments:
Post a Comment