Do you feel
like you “get” social media, or do you just use it because that’s where all
your friends and family are?
I didn’t “get it” at first. In fact, partially because
I where I lived, I didn’t even sign up for any social media outlets (i.e.
Facebook) until way after everyone else I knew did. It was kind of like my
first computer. I remember my dad trying
to buy me a computer when I was in college in the early nineties, but I didn’t
want one. I told him I just needed a word processor for typing up my college
papers, so he got me a Brother word processor, which was basically a digitalized
typewriter. Needless to say, I
reluctantly realized later that I really needed a computer, but not until I
moved out to the island where I was completely isolated from the newest
technologies getting “big” in the states (i.e. cell phones, social media, etc…).
Funny thing
is that despite my separation from technology, I became fairly computer savvy
quickly because the only way for me to finish my bachelor’s degree was to take
some online classes in addition to the face-to-face one offered. I ended up
taking some web design and other computer specific courses too and now I love
to do my work on computers. I even
taught classes for the University of Maryland online after I completed my Masters
degree ENTIRELY online.
Like all my
other technological experiences, I had to “warm up” to social media, but now I
really enjoy it, primarily because of the connection it gives me to my friends
and family (so many of whom live far away). Without social media, I would never
had been back in touch with hardly any of my school friends, and it really
keeps me more abreast of what my brothers, cousins, and other family members
are up to as well. So, yeah, I think I “get
it,” and I also use it because it’s where all my family and friends are!
No comments:
Post a Comment